The Genius that is Leonardo DiCaprio

Oh my goodness, it has literally almost been a full month since I posted last. I finally finished my classes at Georgian College and only have 3 online courses left until I get my fine art degree! Whooh! So I haven’t been shooting much lately, I haven’t really been going on any adventures but instead, have been hiding in my room watching movies and just relaxing… it’s been so lovely. So for some reason I felt the urge to watch the Wolf of Wall Street… I kept seeing it on my netflix but never thought I’d watch it because I’ve always been a fairytale, happy ending kind of girl but this last year I’ve been expanding my range of film and really loving what I’m seeing! First with “The Fall” series with Jamie Dornan – still blowing my mind (if you haven’t seen it go watch it – it’s sooo good!), and now with Wolf of Wall Street.

WallStreet2013poster

I honestly wasn’t sure I was going to be able to watch it. When I watch movies I can’t help but do this thing where I put myself in the movie. I can’t stop it, it happens all the time, and I think that’s part of what makes me so emotional when watching movies and shows… I can’t help but feel what the characters feel, which is why I find it very hard to watch films that are often nominated for oscars (example: 12 Years A Slave, Slumdog Millionaire – basically any film that has anything to do with slavery or very harsh real life). I just can’t stand to see people in pain, physical or emotional. Anyways, I thought I’d give Wolf of Wall Street a chance because I’ve been a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio’s acting for a long time and let me just say that after watching this movie I have never felt more angry and upset that Leonardo DiCaprio hasn’t won an oscar.

He’s always been a brilliant actor. I know most girls will say Titanic is their favourite role of his and I mean I do love Jack Dawson too (who doesn’t!), but free spirited Jack has nothing on Leo’s interpretation of Jordan Belfort in Wolf of Wall Street. I was blown away by his performance and can’t say enough good things about it (and cannot think enough bad words for the academy for not giving him an oscar for this performance!).

Okay let me just start at the beginning here and try my best to form proper coherent and somewhat intellectual sentences. It will be hard.

leonardo-dicaprio-wolf-of-wall-street-omg

So the Wolf of Wall Street – Martin Scorsese, Leo DiCaprio, Jonah Hill and a new Guinness World Record for the most swearing in a movie with the f word being said 506 times… if that doesn’t make you want to see it then something is wrong with you! So WOWS (wolf of wall street, and also the first word out of my mouth after watching this film) is based on the true story of Jordan Belfort, from his rise to a wealthy stock-broker living the high life to his fall involving crime, corruption and the federal government (IMDB).

Normally I would break down the film by section and critique it but for this post I’m focusing more on the performance of Leo – not to take away from the other aspects of the film because it was all amazing:

cinematography = amazing (anything Scorsese directs is pure brilliance)
lighting = perfect
casting = couldn’t be better
wardrobe = perfectly synced to the time and really pulled it all together
But there were specifics within this movie that made me just think holy crap this is amazing, and I’m not just talking about the scene with Matthew McConaughey and Leo where they beat their chests and hum the money chant (which you should definitely watch)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAhIg5Dy3uA

First of all, I did not realize how funny Leo DiCaprio was… he is friggen hilarious in this movie – his mannerisms, body movements, everything.

leonardo-dicaprio-wolf-of-wall-street-sunglasses

He is usually associated with dramatic roles, but he won a golden globe for his role in this film (best actor in a comedy or musical), which is amazing and very well deserved… but it still wasn’t an oscar…

There is one scene in particular where he has taken some drugs and his body kind of shuts down and he has to get down some stairs and into his car… it’s a lot of physical acting and his dedication to the role is absolutely amazing. Part of what I love about Leo as an actor is his dedication to his roles and the ability to make everything he does on screen look so effortless – I often think the academy overlooks how much work he puts into it because he makes it all look so natural. Also, I love when he has his emotional outbursts – there is no other actor that can perform outbursts the way he does, and he does it a lot – Romeo and Juliet, The Great Gatsby and definitely a lot in WOWS.

Honestly, I don’t know what I can say about Wolf of Wall Street that will properly get across how I feel about it. All I can say is that watching it threw me into a Leonardo DiCaprio frenzy and I feel the need to watch all of his movies. I’ve already watched Titanic, Romeo and Juliet, Catch Me If You Can and Gatsby and ladies of the world don’t hate me but I think my least favourite performance is Jack Dawson :/ It’s just so different from all of his other roles and like I stated above, I love Titanic (up until the ship starts sinking, then it gets too real and I start to feel claustrophobic), but Leonardo DiCaprio is just so so sooo good at playing characters with inner demons I just can’t turn away. He’s just so talented, I’ve honestly never seen another actor like him with that amount of dedication to the role – he literally puts his all into every moment and I think I’m able to appreciate it more with the deeper and darker characters.

The fact that he has now played not one of my favourite fictional characters but two (Romeo and Jay Gatsby) only makes me love him even more.  And while we’re on the subject of Romeo… am I the only one amazed at his performance in Romeo and Juliet. He was like 21 or something in it. That blows my mind. For anyone to be able to perform shakespeare is amazing but to be that young just goes to show the talent he had even at that age.

0addc2491ca7949ad2af5e822c2ddf44

like common, look at that emotion… I love it almost as much as

in-the-rain-Jay-3-the-great-gatsby-2012-35275853-500-215those eyes though. like he’s looking into my soul.

He has this way of bringing these characters to life and presenting their flaws in such an honest way, so you can’t hold it against them. And I have to say, he looks super good in suits and I’ve noticed his chosen characters like to cheers people a lot… and I love it!

Titanic_Leonardo_DiCaprio great_gatsby-2

THE WOLF OF WALL STREET (2013) Leonardo DiCaprio plays Jordan Belfort

okay there’s my random post/rant/blog for today. If you take anything away from this post it should be that Leo deserves an oscar… I may have to write a strongly worded letter to the academy. But for reals, go watch Wolf of Wall Street, he’s out of this world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

